Media for a Just Society Awards

Media for a Just Society Awards

The Media for a Just Society Awards are the only national recognition of media whose work furthers public understanding of criminal justice, juvenile justice, child welfare, and adult protection issues. We seek stories that illustrate current realities or the promise of reform, especially those that help people understand the complex issues surrounding the nation’s social systems. 

Categories include book, film, print/online journalism, radio, television/video, and youth media. Past winners include author Nell Bernstein (Burning Down the House: The End of Juvenile Prison), filmmaker Malik Vitthal (Imperial Dreams), journalist Ta-Nehisi Coates (“The Black Family in the Age of Mass Incarceration”), author Reginald Dwayne Betts (Bastards of the Reagan Era), filmmaker Ava DuVernay (13th), and other illustrious journalists, writers, and filmmakers.

We are currently accepting submissions for the 2020 awards. Learn more and submit an entry here.

Learn about our past winners here.


Sign up to receive updates about the Media for a Just Society Awards: