Task Force Hearing Videos

Task Force Hearing Videos

National leaders discuss how they and their organizations are working to address children’s exposure to violence. Panelists: Nigel Cox, Chairman of the Youth Advisory Board of Students Against Violence Everywhere (SAVE); Dr. Patrick McCarthy, President and CEO of the Annie E. Casey Foundation; and Sonja Sohn, Founder and CEO of ReWired for Change.

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder makes opening remarks and delivers the charge to his National Task Force on Children Exposed to Violence.

Panelists discuss the impact of CEV, from brain development to juvenile justice system contact, and explore innovative and collaborative approaches to protecting and healing young people exposed to violence. Panelists: The Honorable Patricia M. Martin, President of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges; Dr. Steven Berkowitz, Director of the Penn Center for Youth and Family Trauma Response and Recovery; Dr. Lauren Abramson, Founder and Executive Director of the Community Conferencing Center in Baltimore; and Adam Rosenberg, Executive Director of the Baltimore Child Abuse Center.

This panel discusses the scope of children’s exposure to violence from the perspectives of law, medicine, law enforcement, and research. Panelists: Dr. Howard Dubowitz, Head of the Division of Child Protection and Director, Center for Families; Dr. Jeffrey Edleson, Director of the Minnesota Center Against Violence and Abuse; Chief Marshall T. Goodwin, Chief of Police for Baltimore City Schools; and Sheila Bedi, Deputy Legal Director, Southern Poverty Law Center.

This panel explores the availability of national statistics, the burden on care providers to recognize and record a child’s experience with violence, and the challenge of tracking the intergenerational impact of different forms of violence within communities. From their clinical and research perspectives, panelists discuss both successes and deficits in current knowledge and how these impact policymaking. Panelists: Dr. David Finkelhor, Director of the Crimes Against Children Research Center and Co-Director of the Family Research Laboratory at the University of New Hampshire; Dr. Phil Leaf, Director of the Johns Hopkins Center for the Prevention of Youth Violence; Dr. Elizabeth Thompson, Director of Kennedy Krieger Institute’s Family Center; and Dr. Theodore Corbin, Medical Director of the Healing Hurt People violence intervention program and Co-Director of the Center for Nonviolence and Social Justice.

Panelist:  Dolores Subia BigFoot, Ph.D., Director, Indian Country Child Trauma Center and Project Making Medicine, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC), Lyle Claw, President, Changing Lives Around the World (CLAW) Inc., Coloradas Mangas, President of the Mescalero Apache Youth Council and Youth Board Member for the Center for Native American Youth, and Maria Brock, LISW, Tribal Home Visiting Project Director, Native American Professional Parent Resources, Inc.

Panelist:Gil Vigil, Administrator of the Santa Fe Indian School and Board Member of the National Indian Child Welfare Association, U.S. Attorney Kenneth J. Gonzales, District of New Mexico, Attorney General Gary King of New Mexico, Anna Martinez, Senior Advisor to the Associate Attorney General and Defending Childhood Initiative Co-Chair, Robert Listenbee, Jr., J.D. and Joe Torre, Defending Childhood Task Force Co-chairs, and Members of the Defending Childhood Task Force.

Panelist:  Paul Smokowski, MSW, Ph.D., CP, Director of the North Carolina Academic Center for Excellence in Youth Violence Prevention (NC-ACE), 

Carole Justice, Coordinator of the Indian Country Methamphetamine Program, and Nate Monson, Executive Director of Iowa Safe Schools

Members of the public provide testimony to the task force.

Esta Soler, President of Futures Without Violence